Opened in 1900, Carmarthen Park boasts Wales's first velodrome (cycle track) and one of the few early velodromes to survive in working condition. Complete with its original grandstand, bandstand, lodge, entrance gates and railings, Carmarthen Park has been used for a wide range of sports, eisteddfodau, entertainments, circuses and concerts.
In 2003 the Town Council introduced a skateboarding facility to the north-west corner of the park as a new attraction for young people. The park is run by Carmarthen Town Council as a public amenity, and includes play equipment, a green gym (outdoor fitness equipment for adults) and a skateboarding facility. Fees are levied for other facilities in order to offset the park's annual operation and maintenance costs. Details of hire charges are available on 01267 235199.
The entrance gates were made by Coalbrookdale and are amongst the finest park gates of
their period to survive in Wales. The gates were restored by the Town Council in 2000, with grant aid and advice from Cadw – Welsh Historic Monuments.